Greetings!

Welcome to our new blog; maintained by our Club Captain. We hope you will find it of interest and we welcome your input (keep it clean or we will delete it).

Thursday, 7 July 2016




RELIEF FROM IMMOVABLE OBSTRUCTION

Rule 24-2. Immovable Obstruction

Interference by an immovable obstruction occurs when a ball lies in or on the obstruction, or when the obstruction interferes with the player's stance or the area of his intended swing. If the player's ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if an immovable obstruction on the putting green intervenes on his line of putt. Otherwise, intervention on the line of play is not of itself, interference under this rule.

Where this applies at Redwood Meadows.

Immovable obstructions are not plentiful at Redwood, but there are a few, like the green irrigation boxes, sprinkler heads and yardage markers. You get relief from these obstructions - without penalty - only if they are interfering with your stance and or swing path.  If they interfere with your intended ball flight after hitting the ball, there is no relief.
The relief without penalty is one club length from the nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole.

NOW THE RULES,  PLAY BY THE RULES,  ENJOY YOUR GOLF.




No comments:

Post a Comment